Game Developers Choice Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Best Technology Archive

The Best Technology Award recognizes the overall excellence of technology in a game - including, but not limited to, graphics programming, artificial intelligence, networking, physics, etc.



12th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2012)

Battlefield 3


  • Battlefield 3 (DICE)
    - DICE Team
  • Nominees

  • L.A. Noire (Team Bondi)
  • Crysis 2 (Crytek Frankfurt/UK)
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Bethesda Game Studios)
  • Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (Naughty Dog)


    11th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2011)

    Red Dead Redemption


  • Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar San Diego)
    - Rockstar San Diego Team
  • Nominees

  • Starcraft II (Blizzard)
  • Heavy Rain (Quantic Dream)
  • Mass Effect 2 (BioWare)
  • God of War III (SCE Santa Monica)


    10th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2010)



  • Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
    - Christophe Balestra, Pal Engstad, Travis McIntosh
  • Nominees

  • Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (Infinity Ward)
    - Richard Baker, Frank Gigliotti
  • Red Faction: Guerrilla (Volition)
    - Rick White, Jasen Whiteside, James Hague, Dave Baranec
  • Killzone 2 (Guerrilla Games)
    - Hermen Hulst, Arjan Brussee, Michiel van der Leeuw, Jan-Bart van Beek
  • Assassin's Creed II (Ubisoft Montreal)
    - James Therrien


    9th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2009)



  • LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)
    - Alex Evans, David Smith
  • Nominees
  • SPORE (Maxis)
  • Grand Theft Auto IV (Rockstar North)
  • Left 4 Dead (Valve Software)
  • Gears of War 2 (Epic Games)


    8th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2008)


  • Crysis (Crytek / Electronic Arts)
    - Cevat Yerli, Douglas Binks, Timur Davidenko, Martin Mittring
  • Nominees
  • Halo 3 (Bungie Studios / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Chris Butcher, Hao Chen, Andrew Soloman, Ben Wallace
  • Call of Duty 4 (Infinity Ward / Activision)
    - Jason West, Grant Collier, Vince Zampella
  • Portal (Valve)
    - Garrett Rickey, Jeep Barnett, David Kircher
  • Assassin's Creed (Ubisoft Montreal / Ubisoft)
    - Claude Langlais, Dominique Couture, Dominique Duvivier, Richard Dumas


    7th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2007)

  • Gears of War (Epic Games / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Michael Capps, Ray Davis, Tim Sweeney, Daniel Vogel
  • Nominees
  • Company of Heroes (Relic Entertainment / THQ))
    - Drew Dunlop, Shelby Hubick, David Swinerd, Ian Thomson
  • Dead Rising (Capcom Entertainment)
    - Shinya Ikuta, Tomofumi Ishida, Yasuhide Sawada, Tomohiro Ueda
  • Rockstar Games presents Table Tennis (Rockstar San Diego / Rockstar Games)
    - Ted Carson, Eugene Foss, Wil Paredes, Steve Reed
  • Wii Sports (Nintendo)
    - Takuhiro Dohta, Takeshi Miyamoto, Keizo Ohta, Kenta Sato


    6th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2006)

  • Nintendogs (Nintendo EAD / Nintendo)
    - Tsutomu Kaneshige
  • Nominees
  • Battlefield 2: Modern Combat (Digital Illusions / Electronic Arts)
    - Fred Gill, Mns Vestin
  • Guitar Hero (Harmonix Music Systems / RedOctane)
    - Eran Egozy, Eric Malafeew, Phil Winston
  • Project Gotham Racing 3 (Bizarre Creations / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Edmund Clay, Roger Perkins, Phil Teschner, Ian Wilson
  • Shadow of the Colossus (Sony Computer Entertainment Inc.)
    - Jinji Horagai, Takuya Seki, Hajime Sugiyama, Masanobu Tanaka


    5th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2005)

  • Half-Life 2 (Valve Software / Vivendi Universal Games)
    - Yahn Bernier, Brian Jacobson
  • Nominees
  • Burnout 3: Takedown (Criterion Games / Electronic Arts)
    - Alex Fry, Ciaran Rooney, Paul Ross, Hamish Young
  • Doom 3 (id Software / Activision)
    - John Carmack, Robert Duffy, Jan Paul van Waveren
  • EyeToy: AntiGrav (Harmonix Music Systems / Sony Computer Entertainment America)
    - Eran Egozy, Eric Malafeew
  • Far Cry (Crytek / Ubisoft Entertainment)
    - Timur Davidenko, Vladimir Kajalin, Andrey Khonich, Anton Knyazyev, Cevat Yerli


    4th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2004)

  • Dominic Couture, Feng Quan Wang and team for graphics programming in PRINCE OF PERSIA : THE SANDS OF TIME
  • Nominees
  • Jak II team for programming in JAK II
  • Kim Salo, Markus Stein and Olli Tervo for physics programming in MAX PAYNE 2: THE FALL OF MAX PAYNE
  • David Worswick for network programming in PROJECT GOTHAM RACING 2
  • Mike Rayner, Jon Spencer and team for programming in SSX 3


    3rd annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2003)

  • Mark Brockington, Scott Greig, Jason Knipe, Don Moar and Don Yakielashek for network programming in NEVERWINTER NIGHTSME
  • Nominees
  • Mike Biddlecombe, Scott Bilas, Bartosz Kijanka, James Loe, Eric Tams and Chad Queen for programming in DUNGEON SIEGE
  • Metroid Team for programming in METROID PRIME
  • Antoine Dodens and Team for graphics programming in TOM CLANCY'S SPLINTER CELL
  • Warcraft III Team for programming in WARCRAFT III: REIGN OF CHAOS


    2nd annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2002)

  • Richard Evans for artificial intelligence in BLACK & WHITE
  • Nominees
  • Akihiko Tan & team for physics in GRAN TURISMO 3 A-SPEC
  • Andy Gavin & Stephen White for programming in JAK & DAXTER: THE PRECURSOR LEGACY
  • Jason Jones & team for programming in HALO: COMBAT EVOLVED
  • Sherman Archibald, John Carmack & Ryan Feltrin for graphics in RETURN TO CASTLE WOLFENSTEIN


    1st annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2001)

  • Sims programming team for AI in THE SIMS
  • Nominees
  • Yu Suzuki & team for physics in F355 CHALLENGE
  • Scott Guest & Andy Astor for graphics in GIANTS: CITIZEN KABUTO
  • Visual Concepts dev team for networking in NFL2K1
  • Martin Brownlow for graphics in SACRIFICE