Game Developers Choice Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Game Developers Choice Awards to be Presented by Industry Leaders

Previous Recipient Will Wright to Present Lifetime Achievement Award

SAN FRANCISCO, CA - February 28, 2002 - Presenters for the 2nd Annual Game Developers Choice Awards, the premier accolades for peer-recognition in game development, include industry leaders Mark Cerny, Cerny Games; Graeme Devine, id Software; Tetsuya Mizuguchi, United Game Artists; Jason Rubin, Naughty Dog; Gabe Newell, Valve Software; and last year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Will Wright, Maxis. The ceremony is scheduled to take place March 21, 2002, at the Game Developers Conference in San Jose, California.

Award finalists were nominated and voted on exclusively by game developers. Presented by the International Game Developers Association, the Awards honor excellence and innovation in interactive entertainment.

As last year's recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, I know how meaningful it is to be recognized by your peers,'' Will Wright, chief designer at Maxis and creator of The Sims, said. "It was truly an honor to receive this award and I am thrilled to be presenting this year's recipient.

Presenters include:

  • Hal Barwood, LucasArts Entertainment
  • Lucy Bradshaw, Maxis
  • Mark Cerny, Cerny Games
  • Graeme Devine, id Software
  • Julian Eggebrecht, Factor 5
  • Rob Huebner, Nihilistic Software
  • Alex Jarett, IGDA
  • Marcus Maki, Remedy Entertainment
  • American McGee, Carbon6 Entertainment
  • Tetsuya Mizuguchi, United Game Artists
  • Ray Muzyka, BioWare Corp.
  • Gabe Newell, Valve Software
  • Jennifer Pahlka, IGDA
  • David Perry, Shiny Entertainment
  • Alex Rigopulos, Harmonix Music Systems
  • Jason Rubin, Naughty Dog
  • Samantha Ryan, Monolith
  • Yoot Saito, Vivarium
  • Tobi Saulnier, Vicarious Visions
  • Warren Spector, ION Storm Austin
  • Chris Taylor, Gas Powered Games
  • Matt Ulleman, Blizzard
  • Will Wright, Maxis
  • Neil Young, Electronic Arts
  • Greg Zeschuk, BioWare Corp.

The quality of the presenters selected for this year's ceremony reflects the core values of the Game Developers Choice Awards,'' Jason Della Rocca, program director, IGDA, noted. "These truly are accolades that come from the heart of the game development community.

All registered GDC attendees and IGDA members are invited to attend the ceremony. Produced by the Gama Network, the GDC is the world's largest conference and exposition dedicated to video game development and related industries.

About the International Game Developers Association (IGDA)

The International Game Developers Association is a non-profit membership organization that advocates globally on issues related to digital game creation. The IGDA's mission is to strengthen the international game development community and effect change to benefit that community. For more information on the IGDA, please visit or e-mail [email protected].

About the CMP Game Group

A core provider of essential information and community to the professional game industry, the CMP Game Group includes the Game Developers Conference, Game Developer magazine,, the Independent Games Festival, and the Game Developers Choice Awards. For more information, please visit


CMP Media LLC ( is a leading integrated media company providing essential information and marketing services to the entire technology spectrum -- the builders, sellers and users of technology worldwide. Capitalizing on its editorial strength, CMP is uniquely positioned to offer marketers comprehensive, integrated media solutions tailored to meet their individual needs. Its diverse products and services include newspapers, magazines, Internet products, research, direct marketing services, education and training, trade shows and conferences and custom publishing.