Game Developers Choice Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Game Developers Choice Awards Recipients Named

Grand Theft Auto III, Yuji Naka Take Top Honors

SAN JOSE, CA - March 22, 2002 - The International Game Developers Association (IGDA) has announced the recipients of the 2nd Annual Game Developers Choice Awards, game development's highest honors. The awards were presented last night during a ceremony at the San Jose Civic Auditorium during this year's annual Game Developers Conference (GDC).

The celebration honors innovation as well as technical and artistic achievement in interactive entertainment. The nominations were open to all game developers, ensuring a true reflection of development community opinion.

The Game Developers Choice Awards are a special moment during the year when we pause to honor fellow developers who create exceptional and innovative games," said Jason Della Rocca, program director of the IGDA. "Recipients of these accolades know they are being recognized by their peers and there is no greater honor than that.

The 2nd Annual Game Developers Choice Awards recipients are:

Game of the Year

Grand Theft Auto III (DMA Design/Rockstar Games)

Rookie Studio of the Year

Bohemia Interactive Studio for Operation Flashpoint

Original Game Character of the Year

Daxter from Jak & Daxter: The Precursor Legacy

Excellence in Audio

Marty O'Donnell & team for sound effects in Halo: Combat Evolved

Excellence in Game Design

GTA3 team for game play in Grand Theft Auto III

Excellence in Level Design

Fumito Ueda & team for level design in Ico

Excellence in Programming

Richard Evans for artificial intelligence in Black & White

Excellence in Visual Arts

Fumito Ueda & team for art direction in Ico

Game Innovation Spotlights

Black & White (Lionhead Studios)
Grand Theft Auto III (DMA Design/Rockstar Games)
Ico (Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.)
Majestic (Electronic Arts)
Rez (United Game Artists)

Three special honors, selected by the Game Developers Choice Awards advisory board, were presented at the awards ceremony:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Yuji Naka, president and CEO of Sega's SONICTEAM, for the innovative and award-winning work he has produced during his career, including the creation of SEGA mascot, Sonic The Hedgehog(TM).

First Penguin Award

Hubert Chardot, for his risk-taking work on Alone in the Dark, a game that started the "survival-horror" genre.

IGDA Award for Community Contribution

Jeff Lander, for his writings on game development, community building efforts and student outreach.

About the International Game Developers Association (IGDA)

The International Game Developers Association is a non-profit membership organization that advocates globally on issues related to digital game creation. The IGDA's mission is to strengthen the international game development community and effect change to benefit that community. For more information on the IGDA, please visit or e-mail [email protected].

About the CMP Game Group

A core provider of essential information and community to the professional game industry, the CMP Game Group includes the Game Developers Conference, Game Developer magazine,, the Independent Games Festival, and the Game Developers Choice Awards. For more information, please visit


CMP Media LLC ( is a leading integrated media company providing essential information and marketing services to the entire technology spectrum -- the builders, sellers and users of technology worldwide. Capitalizing on its editorial strength, CMP is uniquely positioned to offer marketers comprehensive, integrated media solutions tailored to meet their individual needs. Its diverse products and services include newspapers, magazines, Internet products, research, direct marketing services, education and training, trade shows and conferences and custom publishing.