Game Developers Choice Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Downloadable Games Archive

The Best Downloadable Game Award recognizes the overall best game released on console or PC platforms specifically and solely for digital download - with an emphasis on smaller, more 'casual'-friendly titles.



12th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2012)



  • Bastion (Supergiant Games)
    - Supergiant Games Team
  • Nominees

  • Stacking (Double Fine)
  • From Dust (Ubisoft Montpellier)
  • Outland (Housemarque)
  • Frozen Synapse (Mode 7)


    11th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2011)



  • Minecraft (Mojang)
    - Markus Persson
  • Nominees

  • Costume Quest (Double Fine)
  • Limbo (Playdead)
  • Super Meat Boy (Team Meat)
  • Monday Night Combat (Uber Entertainment)


    10th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2010)



  • Flower (thatgamecompany)
    - Jenova Chen, Kellee Santiago, Nick Clark, John Edwards
  • Nominees

  • Plants Vs. Zombies (PopCap)
    - George Fan, Tod Semple, Sukhbir Sidhu, Jason Kapalka
  • Trials HD (RedLynx)
    - Antti Ilvessuo, Tero Virtala
  • PixelJunk Shooter (Q Games)
    - Dylan Cuthbert, Kentaro Yoshida, Shouichi Tominga, High Frequency, Bandwidth
  • Shadow Complex (Chair Entertainment)
    - Donald Mustard, Geremy Mustard, Michael Capps, Cliff Bleszinski


    9th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2009)

    World of Goo


  • World Of Goo (2D Boy)
    - Kyle Gabler, Ron Carmel
  • Nominees
  • Castle Crashers (The Behemoth)
  • Braid (Number None)
  • N+ (Metanet/Slick Entertainment)
  • PixelJunk Eden (Q-Games)


    8th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2008)


  • Flow (thatgamecompany / Sony Computer Entertainment)
    - Kellee Santiago, Jenova Chen, Martin Middleton, Hao Cui, John Edwards, Nick Clark
  • Nominees
  • Pac-Man Championship Edition (Namco-Bandai Games)
    - Nobutaka Nakajima
  • Everyday Shooter (Queasy Games / Sony Computer Entertainment)
    - Jonathan Mak
  • Peggle (PopCap Games)
    - Sukhbir Sidhu, Brian Rothstein, Eric Tams, Walter Wilson
  • Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords (Infinite Interactive / D3 Publisher)
    - Steve Fawkner, Janeen Fawkner